Skip to content

Growing Pains

January 7, 2011

For the last few days, my son has been falling more easily, tripping over his knees and his feet. He’s usually a pretty balanced kid, the kind who does yoga poses like three-legged-dog on a whim, the kind who rides his scooter fast, gracefully lifting his leg between pavement strokes.

So when he starts to fall, I know that he’s growing. He no longer has control of his bones and muscles because they’re shifting. It’s a miraculous thing as a parent to be so connected to your child that you can feel and witness their literal growth with the effort to lift them into the car, to see them subtly but surely sprout after a long night’s sleep. What an unbelievable privilege it is to be present for each day of a child’s life.

But it’s curious how often children yearn to be older, grown up. Mr. B endeavored to do everything his parents did as he matured through toddlerhood, quick to move onto the sippy cup, the bed, to use the fork instead of spoon. Now, my daughter watches her brother and mimics the way he plays and eats, developing through her own best effort.

Meanwhile, we parents watch in astonishment. Don’t get me wrong—there are some things I like about my kids getting older. I am always ready and willing to eschew soupy baby food, high chairs, bottles. But this time, this moment in the cosmos, when my kids are three and one, I’d like to keep. I can already see Mr. B’s legs growing long and lean, the extra pudge around his wrists disappearing. His words get clearer, bigger. He “supposes” things; he separates sentences with “otherwise.” By the time he turns six, though, I doubt he’ll be attracting the admiring gazes of strangers who enjoy hearing his small voice. He’ll no longer open his arms to be picked up, his legs resting on my hips, his arms fierce and gentle around my neck.

Next he’ll be ten, pained by the offenses of other children.

In puberty, he’ll become more detached from me, his bedroom door closed, his goings-on secret.

I fear the last time I’ll get to hold him close is when we dance on his wedding day. I often wonder, can you physically hold your adult son tight, long, when his girlfriend or wife has taken over as the sole object of his affection, his confidence?

When these growth spurts appear, I line him up at his closet door and grab the pen from its place on his bookshelf. “Hold still…. Put your feet together…. Look straight.” In this, if nothing else, he cooperates whole-heartedly. I measure and write the date, then show him how much he’s grown. His face forms around a proud smile, soft cheeks bared. This is when he loves and trusts his body for its ease and accomplishment, its ability to impress him.

If only I could keep those dimpled hands and that tiny, sharp chin. If only his feet would stay well-padded instead of stretching into manhood.

His growing pains are mine.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 8:26 pm

    This made me cry.

  2. January 7, 2011 10:05 pm

    Oh, this hurts me. In a good way. My son uses “actually” in every other sentence. Last week, he told me he had a crush on me. Today, he tried to scare off some “guys being rough, Mom” at the playground. And I just wanted to hold him close, smell his sweet smell, and beg him never to grow up. Alas, we both know it can’t be, shouldn’t be, that way. Growing pains indeed.

  3. Vanessa permalink
    January 7, 2011 10:32 pm

    “This is when he loves and trusts his body for its ease and accomplishment, its ability to impress him.” What a profound thought and think about how much more important/different/impacting this has when thinking about your daughter, our daughters. How do we help them maintain that trust with their body and allow it to impress them regardless of what others may think? Oops. Over spill from book club topic.

  4. January 8, 2011 9:47 am

    This was beautiful! I found myself smiling and nodding my way through this post. Bittersweet agony, isn’t it?

  5. January 8, 2011 12:40 pm

    Beautiful! I don’t have a boy, it feels like it may be different. But, I keep being surprised by the spurts of growth (physical, emotional, verbal, social). The moments she shuns holding my hand. The tears about playground strife. The depth of her compassion. Her great words. She’s 5 1/2, but she still longs to be held sometimes. Curled into my arms, I remember the little softness I held as I was her whole world. It’s good, this growth. But sometimes I feel, like you describe, no longer un control of my muscles and bones. Her growth has made my normal movements awkward and strained.

  6. January 8, 2011 12:42 pm

    This age is so hard, sometimes you lose sight of all the wonderful aspects of it. Well i do. I have 4 and 2 yr old boys and it is tough going a lot of the time. But the amazing bits are just that – awe-inspiringly, crazily amazing. I feel sad when i think of the time when they are embarrassed of me, no longer will hold my hand, tell me they hate me etc etc. But it is all exploration, and with every stage come ups and downs.
    I’d never thought of the clumsiness as being connected to growing spurts…interesting

    M2M

  7. January 8, 2011 1:02 pm

    My cousin called me from Australia this morning, her 1am my 7am, to “talk” but in the end it was insomnia brought on by the realization that her oldest was about to start the second year of high school and her baby, nine, wasn’t far behind. It made her wonder what she would do in all their milestones.
    My own daughter, an only child, left for college last year and opted, grow-up as she is, to stay in Seattle for a snowy Christmas vs. the palm tree one she’d always had in California. Broke my heart, but I told her how proud I was of the life she was building.
    …the hardest job you’ll ever love.

  8. January 9, 2011 1:11 pm

    Very sweet post! I alternate my thoughts on this with my own 5-year-old…some days I think, my God will you just get your own dinner already? And other days I think, wow, she is old enough to peel her own orange. Amazing.

  9. January 10, 2011 8:29 pm

    I feel for you. I had a moment this weekend. Both of my older boys were kicking my butt on the ski slopes. Me languishing behind, sad that they didn’t even wait for me relishing in the opportunity to “beat mom down the hill”. I was sad and pouted about it to my friend who reminded me, “isn’t that what you want?” It still hurts.

  10. Gma permalink
    January 10, 2011 8:59 pm

    Beautiful….

  11. January 11, 2011 11:01 am

    Love this. Now that my daughter is five she loves to take showers. She used to set up a tea party in and around the bathtub and pretend play. Hope she hasn’t abandoned that for good…

  12. Elizabeth permalink
    January 11, 2011 8:42 pm

    Lovely post. I remember those days with my boys, now 19 and 24. I will say, though, that they rarely enter the house without coming to find me for a hug. for that I am so grateful. When I hold their 3 year old sister, I ache in my knowing how fast it will fly and how I will forget much of it. I only hope that she will also come to find me for a hug when she comes home.

Leave a comment